We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A heart-breaking wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas

How far would you go to protect your family? . . .

Essex, 1950.

The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris’s mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself.

Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life. When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home – back to Tilbury. But she’s still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work.

Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain. Now Doris must decide where her heart lies . . .

A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of post-war England

REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher’s novels:

I absolutely loved this book – it was so gripping that I read it from cover to cover in one sitting’

‘This story was fabulous. It won’t be my last Sue Wilsher book

Brilliant author – you won’t be disappointed’

‘Couldn’t put the book down. I cannot wait for her next novel

Reviews

It's a page-turning, well-researched and revealing story filled with heartache and drama as two very different women battle with the hardships and prejudices of life in the Fifties.
Lancaster Evening Post
a gripping page-turner about resilience, hope and the triumph of the human spirit readers will not be able to put down.
Bookish Jottings