We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

With echoes of David Nicholls’s One Day, this romance has just the right mix of heart-melting moments and heart-rending near missesGOOD HOUSEKEEPING

‘Intensely romantic’ SUNDAY MIRROR

‘Wonderful, heart-tugging’
PRIMA

‘Timeless and moving’ HOLLY MILLER

Perfect for fans of One Day and Me Before You, this is a heartbreaking love story spanning three decades that starts and ends on a bench, by the Richard & Judy Book Club bestselling author.
__________________________________________

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that’s spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?
__________________________________________

Readers are falling in LOVE with The Bench . . .

I loved this book from beginning to end’ ***** Reader review

‘A raw, emotional book about love in all its guises’ Sun

I cried at the end, they were happy tears!’ ***** Reader review

‘Heartbreaking’ Bella

What an epic love story, I loved this so much’ ***** Reader review

‘Irresistible’ Jemma Wayne

‘Beautiful, painful, heart-breaking’ ***** Reader review

‘Honest, tender’ Emma Rous

‘Poignant and heart-wrenching’ Mary Chamberlain

I absolutely loved it’ ***** Reader review

‘Beautiful’ Cecilia Ekbäck

‘I fell head over heels in love with it’ Fiona Mitchell

‘Wonderful storytelling’ ***** Reader review

‘Wonderful’ Lisa Ballantyne

Reviews

Captivating . . . this beautiful love story is touching, relatable and gloriously romantic. It found it impossible to put down
The Press and Journal
With echoes of David Nicholls's One Day, this romance has just the right mix of heart-melting moments and heart-rending near misses
Good Housekeeping
A wonderful, heart-tugging romance
Prima
A poignant and heart-wrenching love story, tender and suspenseful and exquisitely written. The characters are painted with such compassion and sympathy: we enter into their longing, into their passionate and aching worlds, willing the story to end well for them, not wanting it to end, but to go on forever. This is one of the best love stories written, engrossing and utterly immersive. Saskia Sarginson never disappoints.
Mary Chamberlain
Read it if you liked One Day . . . Have tissues to hand
Best
A wonderful, life-spanning novel with real heart and depth. I didn't want it to end
Lisa Ballantyne
Fans of David Nicholls's One Day will love this heart-tugging read
Hello!
A sweeping love story rich with honest, tender moments
Emma Rous
A raw, emotional book about love in all its guises
The Sun
Saskia Sarginson is a gifted and versatile writer. She can turn her hand to just about any genre - be it thriller, historical or literary. This is the fourth novel of hers that I have read and for me, it's right up there with her best work. The Bench feels like a book that the world really needs right now. Packed full of surprises and kindness, I certainly fell head over heels in love with it.
Fiona Mitchell
A beautiful portrait of love. Real. Complicated. Irresistible
Jemma Wayne
A beautiful, very special, love story about what can happen when life gets in the way. About how love can endure the impossible. About how some people are meant to be. Saskia Sarginson is such a talented writer. Her characters are so human with their shortcomings and virtues, they could be us - they are us. And thus, their moments of grace are ours. I loved this book.
Cecilia Ekbäck
An unforgettable story about once-in-a-lifetime love. A heartfelt and emotional depiction of two people thrown together by destiny then torn apart by circumstance. Powerful, timeless and moving - I loved it
Holly Miller
A quirky and intensely romantic tearjerker
Sunday Mirror
A beautiful romance with likeable characters you invest in wholeheartedly . . . an intriguing, thought-provoking, uplifting tale of love, loss, deceit, and destiny
www.moreaboutbooks.com
Heartbreaking
Bella