Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

21 Truths About Love

21 Truths About Love

Honest, vulnerable, hilarious, and profoundly human’ Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six

From the beloved author of Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend comes a wonderful new novel about a struggling man, written entirely in lists.

Daniel Mayrock’s life is at a crossroads:
1. His bookshop is failing.
2. He’s sick of feeling useless.
3. His wife, Jill, is ready to start a family.
4. She has no idea about 1 and 2.


Dan is scared.

Then Jill gets pregnant.

And now all Dan knows is:
5. Dan loves Jill.

Brimming with Dan’s hilarious sense of humour and unique world-view, his obsessive list-making paints a picture of a man who’s willing to do just about anything for the love (and soon-to-be new love) of his life…

Praise for Matthew Green:

‘A novel as creative, brave, and pitch-perfect as its narrator . . . It has been a long time since I read a book that has captured me so completely, and has wowed me with its unique vision’ Jodi Picoult on Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

‘A fresh, humorous exploration of what makes us vulnerable and what makes us responsible, and you can’t help but root for Daniel Mayrock even when he’s at his most mistaken. This is a love story of great pathos and beauty’ Sharma Shields, author of The Cassandra

‘What to know about this novel: 1) It’s written entirely in lists. 2) It’s about an anxious man struggling with family and financial issues. And 3) It’s an unconventional, endearing tale of impending fatherhood’ The Washington Post
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 19th November 2019

Price: £13.99

ISBN-13: 9780349424750

Reviews

It's not quite enough to say that 21 Truths About Love is original, it is radical and extraordinary. I have no idea how Matthew Green made a story comprised entirely of lists feel so human but that's exactly what this story is: honest, vulnerable, hilarious, and profoundly human
Taylor Jenkins Reid, <i> New York Times </i> bestselling author of <i> Daisy Jones and the Six </i>
What to know about this novel: 1) It's written entirely in lists. 2) It's about an anxious man struggling with family and financial issues. And 3) It's an unconventional, endearing tale of impending fatherhood
The Washington Post
A fresh, humorous exploration of what makes us vulnerable and what makes us responsible, and you can't help but root for Daniel Mayrock even when he's at his most mistaken. This is a love story of great pathos and beauty
Sharma Shields, author of <i>The Cassandra</i>
A quick, light read, and an unexpected pleasure
The Seattle Times
Often moving, sometimes shocking, always entertaining, this superbly crafted work emphasises the incalculable variety of the novel form
Booklist
A clever, genre-bending portrait of a man under pressure
Kirkus Reviews
Dicks has impeccable comedic timing and touchingly renders family dynamics
Publishers Weekly
Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin
Shelf Awareness