We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Death in the Dales

A Death in the Dales

Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writersDaily Mail

‘Brody’s writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive’ Ann Cleeves

A murder most foul

When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe . . .

A village of secrets

But it just so happens that Freda’s nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.

The case of a lifetime

It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn’t the holiday Kate was expecting . . .

Whether you’ve read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

Praise for the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

‘Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine’ Ann Granger

‘Delightful’ People’s Friend

‘Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives matured by their wartime experiences. They make excellent heroines’ Literary Review

I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character’ Woman’s Way

‘Brody’s excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters’ RT Book Reviews
Read More

CWA daggers: Endeavour Historical Dagger, 2016

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 14th January 2021

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349406565

Reviews

Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery.
Gazette & Herald
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish.
Barry Turner, Daily Mail