Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Chateau on the Lake

The Chateau on the Lake

A compelling tale of romance and betrayal set during the danger of the French Revolution, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.

‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fforde on The Apothecary’s Daughter

1792. As a teacher at her parents’ Academy for Young Ladies in the heart of London, Madeleine Moreau has lived her life sheltered from the outside world. But on the night of a dazzling Masquerade, tragedy strikes and she is left alone in the world. Desperate to find the family she never knew, Madeleine impulsively travels to France in search of them. But with war around the corner, and fearing for Madeleine’s safety, the enigmatic Comte Etienne d’Aubery offers her protection at his home, Chateau Mirabelle.

Chateau Mirabelle enchants Madeleine with its startling beauty, but it is a place of dark and haunting secrets. As the Revolution gathers momentum and the passions of the populace are enflamed, Madeleine must take control of her own destiny and unravel events of the past in order to secure a chance of future happiness.

Praise for Charlotte Betts

Betts’ description is second to none . . . you inhale all the sights, sounds and smells of the setting and engage with every one of the characters. I stayed awake until 3am to finish it. A superb bookThe Sun

Full of passion and drama . . . I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story – gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detailKate Furnivall, bestselling author of The Russian Concubine

You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!’ Amazon reviewer

Well-written and thought-provoking‘ Goodreads reviewer

A fantastic story loaded with history’ Amazon reviewer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Historical Romance

On Sale: 6th November 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349404509

Reviews

Betts' description is second to none. It caters to the senses. Historically believable, you inhale all the sights, sounds and smells of the setting and engage with every one of the characters. I stayed awake until 3am to finish it. A superb book
The Sun
Lively narrative voice
The Lady
Very enjoyable
Daily Mail
A richly embroidered and memorable read
My Weekly
Full of passion and drama . . . I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story - gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail
Kate Furnivall, bestselling author of The Russian Concubine